Print this page

Catholic Education in Wales

The Catholic Church is Wales in divided into three diocese; the diocese of Wrexham, the diocese of Menevia and the Archdiocese of Cardiff. Together they have an estimated Catholic population of 208,146.

The diocese of Wrexham consists of the 6 Counties of North Wales and the district of Montgomery in the County of Powys in Mid-Wales. It has a Catholic population of 37,050.

The diocese of Menevia covers Swansea, Carmarthen, Llandrindod wells, Haverfordwest and Port Talbot. It has a Catholic population of over 27,096

The Archdiocese of Cardiff has eight deaneries covering Cardiff, the Welsh valleys, Bridgend, Hereford, Newport, North Gwent and Pontypridd. It has a Catholic population of over 144,000.

There are 91 schools in Wales who educated 30,549 pupils and employ 1,635 teachers.

To contact the Welsh dioceses please see below:

Tel: 02920 233 838
Email: schools @

Tel: 01792 652 757
Email: education @

Tel: 01978 262 726
Email: curia @

CES Education Adviser (Wales)

Philip Manghan

Tel: 07960513558
Email: WalesAdviser @